Soft Book the First (10/52)

Benjamin Bunny book
Fabric: Benjamin Bunny Fabric Book, by Quilting Treasures
Dates: March, 2014 to July 28, 2014

Many years ago, before Fabric Place went out of business, I bought several yards of Beatrix Potter fabric to make (prospective) baby things with. I’m planning to use it to make the quilt for the toddler bed, cover several baskets in the nursery, the bed skirt, and several other small projects.

The fabric also had a coordinating book that went along with it–an abridged version of Beatrix Potter’s

    Benjamin Bunny & Peter Rabbit

. I had never made a cloth book before, but took it out at the beginning of last March (prior to finding out about The Kid), to get started. For the most part, it’s pretty simple: follow the directions as printed on the panel.

But this was me-I can’t simply follow the directions. Instead, I opted to line the cover with Pellon71 to give it a bit more stability, and all of the pages with a single layer of cotton batting to give them some body. I got the cover done (and forgot to take any pictures of this process at all-grr), but then got distracted by school & then the pregnancy.

I finally pulled it out last Sunday to try and finish, and went online to see if anyone had any tips. I came across Cloth Books for Baby, which had some great tips on how to put this together, including adding a spine & teething ring that I took full advantage of (I ordered a pack of hardwood teething rings from Amazon, so I have enough to do a few more projects to say the least). I have two more of these to make, and I’ll try and get some process shots of those! One more copy of

    Benjamin Bunny

, and then another of

    Jemima Puddleduck

. Hopefully, since I’ve done one, the others will go much faster. Ideally.

20140728-184951.jpg

20140728-184958.jpg

Leave a comment